Instrumental death metal duo Fermentor signs to Metal Assault Records

Metal Assault Records is pleased to announce its newest signing, and a very unique one at that. San Diego, California instrumental death metal duo Fermentor has joined the label roster. Comprising drummer Dylan Marks and guitarist Adam "Wally" Wollach, both members of Beekeeper (also on the label roster), Fermentor self-released their full-length debut Continuance in 2020, and will now be releasing it on CD via their new label on July 2 2021. 

Pursuing an old-school death metal style as an instrumental guitar-drum duo certainly makes Fermentor a standout band to begin with. Marks and Wollach have played in bands for several years and expressed their musicianship in a variety of ways, but with Fermentor, their musical prowess truly comes to the forefront like never before. MAR is very excited to bring this band aboard its label roster.

Pre-orders for the Continuance CD and merch bundles will be go on sale on May 11 via the Fermentor bandcamp store, along with the premiere of a brand new music video for the song "Cotterpin". In addition to the Continuance CD release, Fermentor will also put out the follow-up full-length album via MAR, in the not-too-distant future.

track listing:
1. The Stench (4:01)
2. Thunderboss (5:19)
3. Mechanism (4:45)
4. The Decay of Western Society (3:37)
5. Seventh Circle (3:18)
6. Landbridge (4:31)
7. Cotterpin (3:48)
8. Stage V (4:09)
9. Cut & Shut (2:08)
10. Project Zeus (4:03)
Total Runtime: 39:39

More about Fermentor:

Fermentor is a San Diego-based two-piece instrumental metal band formed in 2008 by drummer Dylan Marks (Eukaryst, Beekeeper) and guitarist Adam “Wally” Wollach (Beekeeper, TrashAxis).

Stripping away the comforts of a traditional band infrastructure, Fermentor relies solely on communicating through only two elements, drums and guitar. The two instruments act more like contrapuntal voices, rather than just rhythm and melody.

Their musical chemistry was discovered in the summer of 2008 when the two cousins  took advantage of an opening at Wollach’s recording studio. Having never collaborated before and with only four weeks to write and record, they created their first EP entitled Matanzaa.

After a brief period of living on opposite coasts, Fermentor regrouped and began to push their writing to a new level. With a newfound control of their unique synchronicity, they released two EPs; the self-titled Fermentor and Rate of Cognition.

Their explosive live performances have garnered them the reputation of an unrelenting and high-energy experience atypical of a duo. This has earned them the opportunities to share the stage with other experimental powerhouses such as Behold!...The Arctopus, Atomic Ape, and Captured By Robots.

In 2020, they released the digital version of their first full length album Continuance. Wollach, known for his superb audio production work with bands like Beekeeper, Pire, and Eukaryst. again has shown his mastery of engineering. This highly creative and progressive album plays with the listeners ear by subverting expectations of tonality and song structure. This critically hailed record is bursting with intricate timings, propulsive arrangements, and unconventional riffing. Wollach also designed and created the artwork and graphics for Continuance. Tracked by recording engineer Dale Holland at K St Recordings, and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege, this album is expertly produced with a sonic quality that goes far beyond any of Fermentor’s previous albums.

Throughout the pandemic, Fermentor has not stopped trying to connect with as many fans as possible, continuing to write new music and releasing several music videos and playthroughs of songs from Continuance. Now, in the wake of Covid, Fermentor is extremely proud to sign on with Metal Assault Records. As part of the Metal Assault roster they will be releasing a physical version of Continuance on CD July 2nd, 2021 as well as releasing their next full-length album.  

Stay tuned for much more from the MAR + Fermentor camp in the coming weeks ...

Fermentor links: facebook | instagram